Tummy Tuck Series (Days 19-32)

Follow my Tummy Tuck Series (1+2+3) or my instagram account to get the whole lowdown on my abdominoplasty.

I’m going to be sharing just the highlights from about 2.5 weeks and going forward since I’m almost back to normal!

At Day 19, I woke up with a lot of pain and swelling on my right side and a fever. I immediately called the surgeons office and was able to get in that day. I was ecstatic when the doctor removed my second (and final) drain, however,  it was likely infected somewhere on the inside.  I was put on another round of antibiotics (my 3rd in two months…goodbye good gut bacteria!) to beat the infection.

Day 20, my fever spiked up to 100 and 101 degrees. There was a lot of swelling which was likely from a combination of the drain removal and having an infection.

Day 21, I continued on to Day 3 of a high fever. At this point, I started to get sick with a cold or something else from being so compromised.

By Day 22, things started to look up and I was feeling a bit better. I noticed that I was decently swollen in my lower abdominals.

Day 26 I went back to the doctor to get checked up on. At this point I was told I technically didn’t have to wear my binder anymore! However, I still had a lot of swelling so I continue(d) to wear it.

Up until day 31, a combination of swelling from tissue swelling, fluid and my monthly cycle made me experience what I’ve heard been called “swell hell” or a LOT of swelling. It wasn’t terrible, just a bit uncomfortable and stiff from being puffy. I continued to wear my compression to help reduce some of the swelling. I tried to do my first little workout this week (shhh…) and was surprised at how difficult it was. I also went for a small/easy hike (walk) and it felt good to do somethingl

By Day 34 (today), the swelling has finally started to go down. I am looking forward to next week when hopefully I am cleared to exercise again!

Leave a comment